Something’s not right

Back in the office after the press screening of The Day The Earth Stood Still, I was lazily in the middle of sipping Starbucks and chewing tuna empanada* while surfing the net when the TV caught my attention. CNN was reporting on the state of hunger in cholera-stricken Zimbabwe. I almost couldn’t finish my food.

I know I can’t teleport to Harare to give away my food. However, I’m inclined to express my opinion that President Mugabe must do something to change the situation, and not blame Western sanctions for the collapse of the economy.  It is my belief that it was his policies which led to the economic free-fall; after all these things are happening during his term. The fact of the matter is that people are dying of hunger, AIDS and cholera, and his government has little resources to fix the situation.

*stuffed pastry

Leave a Reply

