Prospects 2009

Word of the year: is a choice between “Prepare” and “Commit”.

From Yahoo Astronomy, my forecast this year says:

Your new commitment to self has given you a renewed appreciation of the your divine wisdom and accomplishments. The understanding you have radiates love and compassion, and is attracting your highest good. As your creative spirit soars, the excitement you feel helps you submit to the larger purpose and vision gained in your dreamtime. You are easily able to bring your work out into the world with clarity and purpose. Your heart’s desires are quickly manifesting right before your eyes and you are able to reap long-standing benefits as you detach from the past and are catapulted forward.

Because of your humanitarian ideals and desire to be a helper in our emerging world, be careful not to fall into old patterns of helping others fulfill their needs rather than taking care of your own. As you grow, people are drawn to your altruistic ideas and your visionary and compassionate personality.

I’ve highlighted that portion which hits home very much. After reading this crazy and insightful book called “Easy Rider, Raging Bulls” by Peter Biskind, I’ve come to some realizations as to what I intend to do with the career I have chosen to pursue.

Perhaps a result of my family’s political inclinations, or the politics I embraced after college, I have always denied myself of myself, always choosing the political over the personal and preferring the greater good (hence the derision with writing in first person and the aversion for blogging, in my first post in this blog.)

The choice between “Prepare” and “Commit” is the same. This year is going to be difficult for many people, particularly in the economic sense and it would be prudent for me to be “prepared” this year professionally, mentally, physically, maybe emotionally, speaking.  I want to write my first screenplay this year and maybe make the movie next year. But that means it’s much better for me to “Commit” than just “prepare”.

I have problems with “commitment” because that for me entails losing myself again. I am political. “Talino’y ialay sa masa” (“Talent/Intelligence is surrendered to the people”) is the song of the Party I belonged to in college. I still hold that true to this day.

This year I will either Prepare or Commit.

One thought on “Prospects 2009

Leave a Reply

