Movements in sight and sound.

I’m starting a new section in this blog, and it will be dedicated to film music – mostly original scores.

We already know how integral music and sound are in a film but I seem to have developed this liking for original compositions. You see, I’m not a musical person – I don’t play any instruments much less compose pieces. The nearest to it that I do is attaching and editing musical scores – network or original – to the corporate videos I edit or direct. I seem to have a good ear for it.

Blame John Williams. Star Wars Episode IV and E.T. – the first two movies I saw as a child repeating in my head over and over half because of the fantastic visuals and the other half by John Williams’ memorable music. If I had been musically gifted as a child, I would have ended becoming a composer, I swear.

Of course I’d love soundtracks too – John Highes’ teen movies, David Foster’s For Just A Moment in St. Elmo’s Fire, The Goonies ‘R’ Good Enough by Cyndi Lauper – I grew up on them as well.

Scores are scores and they’re there to serve the emotional aspect of the storytelling of the film – so a lot of times, portions of the score aren’t exactly as enjoyable as themes or pieces that are standalone like songs. Now that I’ve developed a taste for it, it becomes clear that the better the score, the less noticeably memorable it should be. Quite unlike John William’s trademark scores like Vader’s March or Superman’s Theme where they function separately like standalone songs that sometimes interfere with the scene just because they’re more recognisable than the scene unfolding on the screen.

There are so many good ones these days, including former performers James Newton Howard, Beck and recently Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross for David Fincher’s The Social Network.

The section is called Movements, as a play on the word movements that represent the visual element of film as well as the musical term which is “a self-contained part, or section, of a musical composition or form. While individual movements from a composition are sometimes performed separately, the performance of a complete work requires all the movements to be performed in succession (Wikipedia)”.

I’ll be posting stuff once in a while specific pieces which I like. But I won’t even attempt to explain how these are used in their specific scenes – that’s the composer’s job. I’m no music expert, nor do i play music. I’ll just post stuff that I enjoy and then I’ll try to pick out why I liked them in the scene.

Here goes.

Leave a Reply

